Options for Master Data Maintenance by end user in BW, BPC and SAC

Introduction

Sometimes not all master data for reports in BW or SAC are coming from a source system. This may apply for special grouping or for administration of a planning process. Thus, users must manually maintain master data directly in the BW or SAC system. This blog will give you an overview about the different options you have and will help you to choose the best solution for your use case.

First, an overview of the options available for different situations is given. Each option is then explained in more details.

Overview of the options

Reporting in BW – individual development

A customized solution is always an option. If you have not activated the planning package in BW/4, this may even be the only solution if a BPC license is not possible. Development can be accomplished via a simple ABAP, using Web Dynpro or UI5, depending on your skills and requirements.

Standard Web – interface for master data Maintenance

The web interface provided by SAP for master data maintenance can also be used by an end user. With the correct settings and authorizations, you do not have to worry about users maintaining values that you do not want them to change.

Planning in BPC using AfO

Since BW/4, it has been possible to maintain master data within an input-ready query. This is brilliant, as all required entries (planning and master data) can be made within the same excel workbook. Up to BW 7.5 you always had to use the solutions already mentioned (custom development or Standard web Interface)

SAC with embedded BPC

In principle the same options as for pure BPC apply when using SAC with embedded BPC. However, there is a small but important limitation: It is not possible to create new master data via the SAC surface!

How to set up this solution and the restriction (no new line which means no new masterdata) is well described in the following blog: How-To Master Data Planning in SAC with a BPC Live Connection

If you need to create new master data, you can use the normal web interface for master data maintenance. As you are already in a browser this is not such a critical issue, apart from the fact that changing between the two options (new lines with web interface – attributes with input ready query) requires changing the load mode of the attribute between planning and staging ( Thus it is easier to do all within the web – interface).

If you need only to change the attributes of an info object, this is a nice solution:

SAC with write back to BW

One way to create new master in BW via SAC is the option to load data back from SAC to BW. With this solution you first to load master data from BW to SAC, then change the data in SAC (see next chapter) and at the end write the data back to the BW system. There is no problem writing back new master data, as this I a normal loading process in BW.

Native SAC planning

In native SAC planning you can change master data within the normal maintenance view. But normally this is not what you want for the business user and can’t be included in a nice story. But with some scripts you can create new master data or update fields of existing entries. With the new unified story this is no problem. Attention – version attributes cannot be changed via script!

This is described in detail within the following blog: Maintain Master Data in Planning Model – Sap Analytics Cloud (SAC)

SAC load back to BW

If you already have all your data in SAC, you can of course change the data there and load the master data back into SAP. This sounds like a complicated way, but if you do your planning in SAC and load the plan data back into BW, why not load the master data as well?

This is similar to what we have described in our blog Exporting Data from the SAC to a BW using ODATA Service when master data can be loaded back to the BW system.

Further details for

Individual development – ABAP / Web Dynpro / UI5

This is the most flexible solution for a web – interface to maintain master data information. However, the development costs are normally higher compared to all other solutions. In addition to your BW skills, you will need development skills (for ABAP / Web Dynpro / UI5 according to your choice).

This solution may be the only way to go, if only master data maintenance is required without other planning requirements to avoid license fee for planning in BW/4. These savings must be compared with the development costs in your case.

Master data maintenance via web interface

Using the master data maintenance screen can also be a solution for the end user. There are flexible options for restricting the users to the attributes, that can be changed (very important, if you do not want them to change e.g. attributes coming from the source system) as well as which master data they are allowed to change. So this is a simple and flexible out-of-the-box solution with low implementation effort.

Even mass data entry is supported by this interface. Paste multiple lines in a new line will process all lines!

To restrict for which values of a key field the user has authorization you have to tick the option “Master Data Configuration with Authorization Check” as described in the last chapter of the SAP – Help Editing the Properties of Master Data/Texts

Restriction for attributes available to change is hidden within the customizing settings for the BW/4 but well described in note 2335724 – Changing Authorizations for Master Data Maintenance

Maintenance with planning query in AO

Since BW/4HANA 1.0 SP 08 it is possible to maintain master data via a planning query. This option allows great flexibility, e.g. to restrict and guide the user as to what is to be maintained via normal query filters and authorizations. It is also easy and quick to implement if you are already using planning functionality. A very good description of all the details can be found in this blog post: How-to Master Data Planning in SAP BW/4HANA

If you want to allow new master data, you need to set RSADMIN – Parameter BICS_NEW_MASTER_DATA as described in note 2508938 – BICS: New line check service and master data planning (ABAP)

With this flag, new master data can be entered within a planning query on infoobjects but not during planning on an aDSO. Thus, when you maintain master data, you can create new entries but during “normal” planning no new masterdata is possible and data consistency is assured.

In the following screenshot you see on the left hand side a query on an infoobject for which we allowed the planning mode. Now I can create new masterdata, e.g. attribute NEW.

On the right side you see a classical planning on an aDSO. Here, only existing masterdata are allowed, e.g. as long as NEW is not saved, no plan data can be entered for this attribute.

Concerning new values for infoobjects used as attribute in our infoobject “Demo Master Data” SAP is not consistent. During planning on the infoobject it seems that new master data is as well allowed for e.g. “Company Code” and data can e saved (here 0666). But only a SID is created but no entry in the masterdata table. Thus, you cannot use this “new” Company code in the planning in an aDSO. This functionality is required if you want to enter comments via attributes as key figures. But this is a different story.

SAC and standard master data maintenance web interface

In principle this is a very simple solution, just call the required URL from within an SAC page either in a popup or as a separate tab. Just remember to replace the System in the URL when transporting from development to production tenant.

After upgrading to SAP BW/4 2021 SP05, we experienced problems when calling the SAP web interface for master data maintenance as a popup. Within a popup no maintenance was possible, the cursor turned into a stop sign ☹ and we had to change to call the URL instead as a new tab (NavigationUtils.openUrl(“URL”,true); )

Overview

The first table gives you an overview of which solution can be used in which case. The second table shows you the main limitations and advantages of each solution.

BW – Release

BPC SAC possible option
      Custom development Standard Web Interface AfO SAC with embedded BPC SAC – load back to BW Native SAC
< 7.5 included No X X
7.5 included No X X
7.5 included Yes X X X
BW/4 Not activated No X X
BW/4 Activated No X X X
BW/4 Not activated Yes X X X
BW/4 Activated Yes X X X X X
No No Yes X

 

 

Description Anforderungen Pro Restrictions
Custom development ABAP

Web Dynpro and / or UI5 knowledge

Very flexible

No planning license (BW/4)

Big implementation effort
Standard Web – Interface for Master Data Maintenance Web – Interface Flexible restriction to attributes and values possible

Very low implementation effort (only providing link and authority maintenance)

No change on the interface possible

 

Master Data Planning via AfO BW/4

AfO – PlugIn

Planning skills

Fast implementation

Quite flexible

Planning license required
SAC interface with embedded BPC Planning skills Web interface flexible No new master data
Native SAC SAC Flexible via script No change of master data for the SAP version
SAC load back to BW SAC and BW Flexible via script Data needs to be loaded first from BW to SAC and then back

Conclusion

All the described solutions described have been used in different projects! It depends on your requirements and preferred interface to choose the best one for your situation. You should always have the different options in mind, there may be one with less effort for implementation.

 

Notes

SAC behavior tested with release 2023.16.4

Stammdatenpflege durch den Endbenutzer in BW, BPC und SAC

Einleitung

Nicht immer kommen alle Stammdaten für Berichte im BW oder SAC aus einem Quellsystem. Dies kann für spezielle Gruppierungen oder für die Verwaltung eines Planungsprozesses gelten. Daher müssen die Benutzer die Stammdaten manuell direkt im Business Warehouse (BW) oder in der SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) pflegen. Dieser Blog gibt Ihnen einen Überblick über die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten, die Sie haben und hilft Ihnen, die beste Lösung für Ihren Anwendungsfall zu wählen.

Zunächst wird ein Überblick über die für verschiedene Situationen verfügbaren Optionen gegeben. Anschließend wird jede Option im Detail erläutert.

Überblick über die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten

Reporting im BW – Individuelle Entwicklung

Eine kundenspezifische Lösung ist immer eine gute Option. Wenn Sie das Planungspaket in BW/4 nicht aktiviert haben, kann dies sogar die einzige Lösung sein, wenn eine BPC-Lizenz nicht möglich ist. Die Entwicklung kann einfach über ABAP, mit Web Dynpro oder UI5 erfolgen, je nach Ihren Fähigkeiten und Anforderungen.

Standard Webinterface für Stammdatenpflege

Die von SAP für die Stammdatenpflege bereitgestellte Weboberfläche kann auch von einem Endanwender genutzt werden. Mit den richtigen Einstellungen und Berechtigungen müssen Sie nicht befürchten, dass Benutzer Werte pflegen, die sie nicht ändern sollen.

Planning in SAP BPC mit AfO

Seit BW/4 ist es möglich, Stammdaten innerhalb einer eingabebereiten Query zu pflegen. Das ist insofern genial, als dass alle erforderlichen Eingaben (Planungs- und Stammdaten) innerhalb derselben Excel-Arbeitsmappe vorgenommen werden können. Bis BW 7.5 musste man immer auf die bereits erwähnten Lösungen zurückgreifen (Eigenentwicklung oder Standard Web Interface).

SAC mit embedded BPC

Im Prinzip gelten für die Verwendung von SAC mit eingebettetem BPC die gleichen Möglichkeiten wie für reines BPC. Allerdings gibt es eine kleine, aber wichtige Einschränkung: Es ist nicht möglich, neue Stammdaten über die SAC-Oberfläche anzulegen!

Wie man diese Lösung einrichtet und die Einschränkung (keine neue Zeile, also auch keine neuen Stammdaten) ist im folgenden Blog gut beschrieben: How-To Master Data Planning in SAC with a BPC Live Connection

Wenn Sie neue Stammdaten anlegen müssen, können Sie die normale Webschnittstelle für die Stammdatenpflege verwenden. Da Sie sich bereits in einem Browser befinden, ist dies kein kritisches Problem, abgesehen von der Tatsache, dass der Wechsel zwischen den beiden Optionen (neue Zeilen mit Webinterface – Attribute mit eingabebereiter Abfrage) einen Wechsel des Lademodus des Attributs zwischen Planning und Staging erfordert – Daher ist es einfacher, alles innerhalb des Webinterfaces zu erledigen.

Wenn Sie nur die Attribute eines Info-Objekts ändern müssen, ist diese Lösung gut geeignet.

SAC – Zurückschreiben der Daten in das BW

Eine Möglichkeit, einen neuen Stamm im BW über SAC anzulegen, ist die Option, Daten aus SAC in das BW zurückzuladen. Bei dieser Lösung laden Sie zunächst Stammdaten aus dem BW in die SAC, ändern dann die Daten in der SAC (siehe nächstes Kapitel) und schreiben am Ende die Daten zurück in das BW. Es ist kein Problem, neue Stammdaten zurückzuschreiben, da dies ein normaler Ladevorgang im BW ist.

Natives SAC Planung

In der nativen SAC-Planung können Sie Stammdaten innerhalb der normalen Pflegesicht ändern. Normalerweise ist dies jedoch nicht das, was Sie für den Anwender wünschen und kann nicht in eine ansprechende SAC – Anwendung integriert werden. Mit einigen Skripten können Sie jedoch neue Stammdaten anlegen oder Felder bestehender Einträge aktualisieren. Mit der neuen Unified Story ist das kein Problem. Aber Achtung – Versionsattribute können nicht per Skript geändert werden!

Dies wird in dem folgenden Blog ausführlich beschrieben: Maintain Master Data in Planning Model – Sap Analytics Cloud (SAC)

SAC – Zurückladen der Daten in das BW

Wenn Sie alle Daten bereits in SAC vorliegen haben, können Sie natürlich die Daten dort ändern und die Stammdaten zurück in SAP laden. Das klingt nach einem komplizierten Weg, aber wenn Sie Ihre Planung in SAC durchführen und die Plandaten zurück ins BW laden, warum nicht auch die Stammdaten?

Dies ist ähnlich wie das, was wir in unserem Blog beschreiben Daten aus der SAC mit dem ODATA-Service in ein BW exportieren wenn Stammdaten wieder in das BW geladen werden.

Weitere Details für

Individuelle Entwicklungen mit ABAP / Web Dynpro / UI5

Dies ist die flexibelste Lösung für eine Web – Schnittstelle zur Pflege von Stammdateninformationen. Allerdings sind die Entwicklungskosten im Vergleich zu allen anderen Lösungen normalerweise höher. Zusätzlich zu Ihren BW-Kenntnissen benötigen Sie Entwicklungskenntnisse (für ABAP / Web Dynpro / UI5, je nach Ihrer Wahl).

Diese Lösung kann der einzige Weg sein, wenn nur die Stammdatenpflege ohne weitere Planungsanforderungen erforderlich ist, um Lizenzgebühren für die Planung in BW/4 zu sparen. Diese Einsparungen müssen mit den Entwicklungskosten in Ihrem Fall verglichen werden.

Stammdatenpflege über das Webinterface

Die Stammdatenpflege kann auch eine Lösung für den Endbenutzer sein. Es gibt flexible Möglichkeiten, die Benutzer auf die Attribute zu beschränken, die geändert werden können (sehr wichtig, wenn Sie nicht wollen, dass sie z.B. Attribute aus dem Quellsystem ändern), sowie auf die Stammdaten, die sie ändern dürfen. Es handelt sich also um eine einfache und flexible Out-of-the-Box-Lösung mit geringem Implementierungsaufwand.

Auch die Massendateneingabe wird durch diese Schnittstelle unterstützt. Fügen Sie mehrere Zeilen in eine neue Zeile ein, werden alle Zeilen verarbeitet!

Um einzuschränken, für welche Werte eines Schlüsselfeldes der Benutzer eine Berechtigung hat, müssen Sie die Option „Stammdatenkonfiguration mit Berechtigungsprüfung“ ankreuzen, wie im letzten Kapitel der SAP – Hilfe beschrieben. Editing the Properties of Master Data/Texts

Die Einschränkung der Attribute, die geändert werden können, ist in den Customizing-Einstellungen für das BW/4 versteckt, aber in einem Hinweis gut beschrieben 2335724 – Changing Authorizations for Master Data Maintenance

Pflege mit einer eingearbeiteten Query in AO

Seit BW/4HANA 1.0 SP 08 ist es möglich, Stammdaten über eine eingabebereite Query im AO zu pflegen. Diese Option ermöglicht eine enorme Flexibilität, z.B. um den Benutzer einzuschränken und zu bestimmen, was über normale Abfragefilter und Berechtigungen gepflegt werden soll. Sie ist auch einfach und schnell zu implementieren, wenn Sie bereits Planungsfunktionen verwenden. Eine ausführliche Beschreibung aller Details finden Sie in diesem Blogbeitrag: How-to Master Data Planning in SAP BW/4HANA

Wenn Sie neue Stammdaten zulassen wollen, müssen Sie den RSADMIN-Parameter BICS_NEW_MASTER_DATA wie in Hinweis beschrieben setzen. 2508938 – BICS: New line check service and master data planning (ABAP)

Mit diesem Kennzeichen können neue Stammdaten innerhalb einer eingabebereiten Query auf Infoobjekten eingegeben werden, aber nicht während der Planung auf einem aDSO. So können Sie bei der Stammdatenpflege neue Einträge anlegen, während der „normalen“ Planung sind jedoch keine neuen Stammdaten möglich und die Datenkonsistenz ist gewährleistet.

Im folgenden Screenshot sehen Sie auf der linken Seite eine Abfrage auf ein Info-Objekt, für das wir den Planungsmodus zugelassen haben. Jetzt kann ich neue Stammdaten anlegen, z.B. das Attribut NEW.

Auf der rechten Seite sehen Sie eine klassische Planung auf einem aDSO. Hier sind nur bestehende Stammdaten erlaubt, d.h. solange NEW nicht gespeichert ist, können keine Plandaten für dieses Attribut erfasst werden.

Bezüglich neuer Werte für Infoobjekte, die als Attribut in unserem Infoobjekt „Demo-Stammdaten“ verwendet werden, ist SAP nicht konsistent. Bei der Planung des Infoobjekts scheint es, dass auch neue Stammdaten für z.B. „Buchungskreis“ erlaubt sind und Daten gespeichert werden können (hier 0666). Es wird jedoch nur eine SID erzeugt, aber kein Eintrag in der Stammdatentabelle. Sie können also diesen „neuen“ Buchungskreis nicht in der Planung in einem aDSO verwenden. Diese Funktionalität wird benötigt, wenn Sie Kommentare über Attribute als Kennzahlen erfassen wollen. Das ist aber eine andere Geschichte.

SAC und Standard-Stammdatenpflege – Webinterface

Im Prinzip ist dies eine sehr einfache Lösung: Rufen Sie einfach die gewünschte URL von einer SAC-Seite aus auf, entweder in einem Popup oder in einer separaten Registerkarte. Denken Sie daran, das System in der URL zu ersetzen, wenn Sie vom Entwicklungs- zum Produktivsystem wechseln.

Nach dem Upgrade auf SAP BW/4 2021 SP05 gab es Probleme beim Aufruf der SAP-Web-Oberfläche zur Stammdatenpflege als Popup. Innerhalb eines Popups war keine Pflege möglich, der Cursor verwandelte sich in ein Stoppschild und wir mussten dazu übergehen, stattdessen die URL als neuen Tab aufzurufen (NavigationUtils.openUrl(„URL“,true);)

Überblick

Die erste Tabelle gibt Ihnen einen Überblick darüber, welche Lösung in welchem Fall verwendet werden kann. Die zweite Tabelle zeigt Ihnen die wichtigsten Einschränkungen und Vorteile der einzelnen Lösungen.

BW – Release

BPC SAC Mögliche Option
      Individuelle Entwicklung Standard Web Interface AfO SAC mit embedded BPC SAC – Zurückladen der Daten Native SAC
< 7.5 Inkludiert Nein X X
7.5 Inkludiert Nein X X
7.5 Inkludiert Ja X X X
BW/4 Nicht inkludiert Nein X X
BW/4 Aktiviert Nein X X X
BW/4 Nicht inkludiert Ja X X X
BW/4 Aktiviert Ja X X X X X
No Nein Ja X

 

 

Beschreibung Anforderungen Vorteil Einschränkung
Individuelle Entwicklung ABAP

Web Dynpro und / oder UI5 Know-how

sehr flexibel

Keine Planungslizenzen (BW/4)

Großer Aufwand in der Implementierung
Standard Web – Interface für Stammdaten-pflege Web – Interface Flexible Einschränkung auf Attribute und Werte möglich

Sehr geringer Implementierungsaufwand (nur Link- und Autoritätspflege)

Keine Änderung an der Schnittstelle möglich

 

Stammdaten Planning über AfO BW/4

AfO – PlugIn

Planungs Know-how

Schnelle Implementierung

Flexibilität

Planungslizenz erforderlich
SAC Schnittstelle mit embedded BPC Planungs Know-how Web interface flexibel Keine neuen Stammdaten
Native SAC SAC Flexibel über script Keine Änderung der Stammdaten für die SAP-Version
SAC Zurückladen der Daten in das BW SAC und BW Flexible über script Die Daten müssen zuerst vom BW in die SAC und dann zurück geladen werden.

Fazit

Alle beschriebenen Lösungen wurden in verschiedenen Projekten eingesetzt! Es hängt von Ihren Anforderungen und Ihrer bevorzugten Schnittstelle ab, welche für Ihre Situation am besten geeignet ist.  Sie sollten immer die verschiedenen Optionen im Hinterkopf haben, vielleicht gibt es eine mit weniger Aufwand für die Implementierung.

 

Anmerkung

SAC Verhalten getestet auf dem Release 2023.16.4

 Dr. Ulrich Meseth
Senior Consultant