Proof-of-Concept Data Orchestration with SAP Data Intelligence

A central challenge for every larger company is the consolidation and linking of master or transaction data. Data can be organised in a DWH such as SAP BW or unorganised in a data lake. It can also flow in as streaming data or come from other external sources. This leads to different and complex data orchestration scenarios.

Therefore, biX Consulting tested SAP Data Intelligence for its capabilities in this area in a proof of concept project for a large pharmaceutical company. It was investigated whether the tool is suitable for connecting different sources and targets, as well as reading and writing data and transforming it on the fly. Scenarios were designed for the PoC, which, in addition to setting up SAP DI and error handling, dealt with various cases focusing on transformation and orchestration.

SAP Data Intelligence is a system for coordinating and processing data. The data can be structured, unstructured or streaming data. Important components are profiling, data catalogue and governance, as well as machine learning. SAP DI is container-based and is accessed via a web application. On the one hand, this allows scaling and parallelisation of work processes, and on the other hand, it allows the desired work environment to be created container by container in terms of resources and software used. Work processes are put together in pipelines or graphs, which consist of individual operators. Operators can have inputs and outputs that form graphs through their connections. A large number of ready-made operators that fulfil special functions such as reading from SAP BW are already integrated. These operators are supplemented by the possibility to create custom operators. These can be used to implement your own JavaScript or Python code, for example.

For the PoC, SAP DI was set up as a separate on-premise installation that includes SAP DI Diagnostics and SAP Vora. Tenants, users and connections were created according to the test scenarios. The created connections to different systems could thus be used directly in the following scenarios. The test scenarios that are to examine transformation and orchestration will be briefly presented here.

Open API in Vora Table

 

In the first transformation scenario, data was loaded from a website and stored in a VORA file. The Open API Client is used to connect to the website. The query that is sent to the client and the subsequent transformation are created with a Python operator that contains its own coding. The transformation makes the data Vora-compatible. Wiretap operators, which are inserted between the operators, allow debugging and checking the intermediate results. They are removed for production use. The graph terminator terminates the graph after a single run.

ABAP table COEP via SLT with split in Kafka and HANA table

 

In this scenario, the connection to an SAP ECC system was tested, whose data is to be written to HANA and streamed using Kafka. The data from the ECC table was streamed using the SLT connector, which passes it as a JSON string to a Python operator. This has two tasks here. It passes the data to the HANA client operator and splits the data into packets that can be processed by the Kafka Producer. The graph is not terminated by the operator, but waits for further data. This must be taken into account when configuring the SLT connection, as using the same configuration multiple times can lead to deadlock.

ECC data source joined with hierarchical text data from SQL server

 

In the third scenario, transaction data from an ECC was enriched with master data from an MS SQL server. The challenge for this scenario is to find suitable entries without having to load the entire data set. For the join, the data from the ECC was also stored in a database table. Since the information about the link between master and transaction data was in another ECC data source, a second graph was created. The first graph pulls the data from the ECC, the second graph creates the join between the two tables from the ECC and the six tables from the SQL server.

SAP BW extraction into two different HANA databases

 

Extracting data from SAP BW and writing it to two different HANA databases was investigated in this scenario. The extraction is carried out using a prefabricated operator that writes data to the Vora. Its result can be read by a Python operator that transforms the data and passes it to two separate HANA clients. The final Python operator waits for success messages from both HANA clients before terminating the graph by sending a message to the terminator operator.

Reading Kafka messages, transforming them and writing them to S3 files

 

Here we tested reading data packets from Kafka and saving them as S3 files. The incoming packets are transformed into csv format using a Python operator. This allows connected Spark or Vora systems to be connected with high performance. For testing purposes, information from the header such as timestamp and sequence of the data packets was also read out. The header of the output file can also be adapted to include information such as column names.

Conclusion

Even if some aspects are not yet fully developed at the time of project implementation, SAP DI can be recommended for data orchestration in the company. Flexibility plays a central role here. Flexibility comes from a large number of prefabricated operators that already cover many different application scenarios, as well as from the possibility to create your own operators with custom code. Flexibility also arises from the fact that the system is based on containers, which allow scaling and parallelisation.

In particular, the good integration with existing SAP solutions clearly sets the tool apart from other providers, without neglecting the integration of 3rd party solutions. This, coupled with consistent cloud use and integration, shows that the tool is a step in the right direction.

Contact Person

Oliver Ossenbrink

Management of sales and HR

Contact Person

Oliver Ossenbrink

Management of sales and HR

teaser

Proof-of-Concept Data-Orchestrierung mit SAP Data Intelligence

Eine zentrale Herausforderung für jedes größere Unternehmen ist die Zusammenführung und Verknüpfung von Stamm- oder Bewegungsdaten. Daten können geordnet in einem DWH wie dem SAP BW oder ungeordnet in einem Data Lake liegen. Sie können auch als Streaming Daten einfließen oder aus anderen externen Quellen stammen. Das führt zu unterschiedlichen und komplexen Daten-Orchestrierungsszenarien.

Daher hat biX Consulting für ein großes Pharmaunternehmen in einem Proof of Concept Projekt SAP Data Intelligence auf seine Fähigkeiten in diesem Bereich getestet. Es wurde dabei untersucht, ob das Tool für die Anbindung von unterschiedlichen Quellen und Zielen geeignet ist, sowie Daten zu lesen und zu schreiben und dabei on the fly zu transformieren. Für den PoC wurden Szenarien entworfen, welche neben der Einrichtung von SAP DI und Error Handling verschiedene Fälle mit Schwerpunkt auf Transformation und Orchestrierung behandelten.

SAP Data Intelligence ist ein System für die Koordinierung und Verarbeitung von Daten. Die Daten können strukturiert, unstrukturiert oder auch Streaming Daten sein. Wichtige Bestandteile sind Profilierung, Data-Catalog und Governance, sowie Machine Learning. Ausgeführt wird SAP DI containerbasiert, der Zugriff geschieht über eine Webapplikation. Das erlaubt einerseits eine Skalierung und Parallelisierung von Arbeitsprozessen, andererseits containerweise die gewünschte Arbeitsumgebung in Hinsicht auf Ressourcen und verwendete Software zu erstellen. Arbeitsprozesse werden in Pipelines bzw. Graphen zusammengestellt, die aus einzelnen Operatoren bestehen. Operatoren können Eingänge und Ausgänge besitzen, die durch ihre Verbindungen Graphen bilden. Eine große Zahl vorgefertigter Operatoren, die spezielle Funktionen wie das Lesen aus dem SAP BW erfüllen, ist bereits integriert. Ergänzt werden diese Operatoren durch die Möglichkeit Custom-Operatoren zu erstellen. In diesen kann z.B. eigener JavaScript oder Python Code implementiert werden.

Für den PoC wurde SAP DI als eigene onPremise Installation eingerichtet, die SAP DI Diagnostics und SAP Vora beinhält. Den Testszenarien entsprechend wurden Tenants, User und Verbindungen angelegt. Die erstellten Verbindungen zu verschiedenen Systemen konnten so in den folgenden Szenarien direkt verwendet werden. Die Testszenarien, die Transformation und Orchestrierung untersuchten sollen, werden hier kurz vorgestellt werden.

Open API in Vora Table

Im ersten Transformationsszenario wurden Daten von einer Website geladen und in einem VORA File abgelegt. Für die Verbindung zur Website wird der Open API Client genutzt. Die Query, die an diesen gesendet wird, sowie die anschließende Transformation werden mit einem Python Operator erstellt, der jeweils eigenes Coding beinhaltet. Die Transformation macht die Daten Vora-kompatibel. Wiretap-Operatoren, die zwischen die Operatoren geschaltet werden erlauben Debugging und die Zwischenergebnisse zu prüfen. Für die Produktivsetzung werden diese entfernt. Der Graph Terminator beendet den Graphen nach einmaligem Durchlauf.

ABAP Tabelle COEP via SLT mit Split in Kafka und HANA Tabelle

In diesem Szenario wurde die Verbindung zu einem SAP ECC System getestet, dessen Daten in die HANA geschrieben und mittels Kafka gestreamt werden sollen. Die Daten aus dem ECC Table wurden mittels SLT Connector gestreamt, der diese als JSON String an einen Python Operator übergibt. Dieser hat hier zwei Aufgaben. Er leitet die Daten an den HANA Client Operator und teilt die Daten in Pakete, die vom Kafka Producer verarbeitet werden können. Der Graph wird nicht per Operator beendet, sondern wartet auf weitere Daten. Das muss bei der Konfiguration der SLT Verbindung berücksichtigt werden, da die mehrfache Nutzung der gleichen Konfiguration zum Deadlock führen kann.

ECC Dataquelle gejoint mit hierarchischen Textdaten aus SQL-Server

Im dritten Szenario wurden Bewegungsdaten aus einem ECC mit Stammdaten aus einem MS SQL-Server angereichert. Die Herausforderung für dieses Szenario ist es passende Einträge zu finden, ohne den gesamten Datensatz laden zu müssen. Für den Join wurden die Daten aus dem ECC ebenfalls in einer Datenbanktabelle gespeichert. Da die Information über die Verbindung zwischen Stamm- und Bewegungsdaten in einer weiteren ECC-Datenquelle lag wurde ein zweiter Graph erstellt. Der erste Graph zieht die Daten aus dem ECC, der zweite Graph erstellt den Join zwischen den beiden Tabellen aus dem ECC und den sechs Tabellen aus dem SQL-Server.

SAP BW Extraktion in zwei verschiedene HANA Datenbanken

Die Extraktion von Daten aus dem SAP BW und das Schreiben in zwei unterschiedliche HANA Datenbanken wurde in diesem Szenario untersucht. Die Extraktion erfolgt mittels eines vorgefertigten Operators, der Daten in die Vora schreibt. Dessen Ergebnis kann von einem Python-Operator ausgelesen werden, der die Daten transformiert und an zwei separate HANA Clients übergibt. Der letzte Python Operator wartet auf die Erfolgsmeldungen beider HANA Clients bevor er durch eine Nachricht an den Terminator-Operator den Graphen beendet.

Kafka Nachrichten lesen, transformieren und in S3 Dateien schreiben

Hier wurde das Lesen von Datenpaketen aus Kafka und die Speicherung als S3 Datei getestet. Die ankommenden Pakete werden mittels Python-Operator in das csv-Format transformiert. Das erlaubt angebundene Spark oder Vora Systeme performant anzuschließen. Zu Testzwecken wurden Informationen aus dem Header wie Zeitstempel und Reihenfolge der Datenpakete mit herausgelesen. Der Header der ausgegebenen Datei kann ebenfalls angepasst werden um Informationen wie bspw. Spaltennamen mitzugeben.

Fazit

Auch wenn einige Aspekte noch nicht völlig ausgereift sind zum Zeitpunkt der Projektdurchführung, kann SAP DI für die Daten-Orchestrierung im Unternehmen empfohlen werden. Flexibilität spielt hierbei eine zentrale Rolle. Flexibilität entsteht durch eine große Zahl vorgefertigter Operatoren, die viele verschiedene Anwendungsszenarien bereits abdecken, als auch durch die Möglichkeit eigene Operatoren mit Customcode zu erstellen. Flexibilität entsteht auch durch die Basierung des Systems auf Containern, welche Skalierung und Parallelisierung erlauben.

Insbesondere die gute Integration mit bestehenden SAP-Lösungen hebt das Tool deutlich von anderen Anbietern ab, ohne die Integration von 3rd Party Lösungen zu vernachlässigen. Dies gepaart mit einer konsequenten Cloud-Nutzung und -Integration zeigt, dass das Tool ein Schritt in die richtige Richtung ist.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für weitere Auskünfte:

Ulrich Kramer
Sales Manager
Tel.: +49 (0) 21 02 8 75 46 – 18
ulrich.kramer@bix-consulting.de

Beitrag Teilen

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email
Share on xing