Change from SAP IP to SAC Planning

Mindchanges when switching from SAP IP to SAC Planning SAP IP auf SAC Planung

If you change from the IP - Planning application to the SAC - Planning programme from SAP with your previous experience, you first have to get used to the following new philosophy:

  • Account model (with account as dimension), no more key figures
  • No more locks while a user is entering planning figures (this does not mean opening and closing the planning).
  • Data model predefined
  • All partial plans in one data model
  • Differentiation plan / actual now via an attribute lastActual in the plan version

Account model

Up to now, planning has often been recorded in a key figure model (e.g. sales volume, freight costs, production costs, etc. are in their own key figures). In order to integrate all sub-planning in one model (see below), planning is now done on an account model, i.e. the sales volume is in the same key figure as the freight costs etc. and only differs by the account used.

For this purpose, new accounts can be defined using formulas or lookups. Everything required is modelled in the accounts. This also replaces the calculated and restricted key figure. Once you get used to this, you save yourself a lot of discussions and tightening up when doing comprehensive reporting.

 

Blocking concept

Up to now, the blocking concept ensured that two users could not edit the same plan figures at the same time. This lock is no longer in place! Whoever saves last - wins. This solves the problem that, for example, when planning via a web interface, locks "get stuck" if the connection is interrupted. However, this sounds a bit frightening at first! But in the end, the lock only prevented users from changing the same numbers at the same time. However, it did not prevent the next user from overwriting the numbers again a few minutes later. So the system also applied until now: the last one wins.

Once you have overcome your initial fears of this change, you realise that it eliminates many problems (lock conflicts, stuck locks) without losing any important functionality!

Data model predefined and uniform

The data model used is identical across all sub-planning! Not all characteristics are filled in all planning steps, but there is a common list of characteristics in all plans. This makes it possible to integrate the different plans immediately. However, it must be ensured in each planning that at least one common set of characteristics is filled (e.g. the account). The planning version is now in the Category dimension.

This ensures from the outset that comprehensive reporting is possible!

Plan / actual distinction

Until now, it was easy to distinguish in a forecast version which months were filled with actual figures and which were filled with plan figures using the Value-Type characteristic.

In the rudimentary SAC model, this feature is no longer available. This difference is made via the attribute lastActual of the plan version. How practical this is for report generation remains to be seen, or it is up to the user to take this into account via a separate characteristic.

Conclusion: As an "old hand", there are some things you have to get used to, but after the first moment of shock, the changes are not really that big.

Author:

Dr. Ulrich Meseth
Senior Consultant
biX Consulting GmbH & Co. KG

Businessman using tablet and laptop analyzing sales data and economic growth graph chart. Business strategy. Digital marketing. Business innovation technology concept

Wechsel von SAP IP auf SAC Planung

Mindchanges beim Wechsel von SAP IP auf SAC Planung

Wenn man mit der bisherigen Erfahrung aus der Anwendung IP – Planung in das Programm SAC – Planung von SAP wechselt, so muss man sich erst einmal an folgende neue Philosophie gewöhnen:

  • Kontenmodell (mit Konto als Dimension), keine Kennzahlen mehr
  • Keine Sperren mehr, während eine User Planzahlen erfasst (damit ist jedoch nicht das Öffnen und Schließen der Planung gemeint)
  • Datenmodell vorgegeben
  • Alle Teil – Planungen in einem Datenmodell
  • Unterscheidung Plan / Ist nun über ein Attribut lastActual in der Planversion

Kontenmodell

Bisher hat man häufig die Planungen in einem Kennzahlenmodell erfasst (z.B. Verkaufsvolumen, Frachtkosten, Produktionskosten etc. stehen in eigenen Kennzahlen). Um alle Teilplanungen in einem Modell zu integrieren (siehe unten), erfolgt nun die Planung auf einem Kontenmodell, d.h. das Verkaufsvolumen steht in der gleichen Kennzahl wie die Frachtkosten etc. und unterscheidet sich nur durch das verwendete Konto.

Dafür kann man neue Konten definieren, die über Formeln oder Lookups definiert werden. Es wird alles Erforderliche in den Konten modelliert. Dies ersetzt auch die berechnete und eingeschränkte Kennzahl. Wenn man sich einmal daran gewöhnt hat, so spart man sich viele Diskussionen und Klimmzüge bei einem übergreifenden Reporting.

Sperrkonzept

Bisher wurde über das Sperrkonzept sichergestellt, dass nicht zwei User gleichzeitig dieselben Planzahlen bearbeiten. Diese Sperre entfällt komplett! Wer zuletzt speichert – gewinnt. Dadurch ist das Problem gelöst, dass zum Beispiel beim Planen über eine Web–Oberfläche Sperren „hängenbleiben“, wenn die Verbindung unterbrochen wird. Das klingt allerdings erst einmal etwas erschreckend! Aber schlussendlich hat die Sperre nur verhindert, dass Anwender gleichzeitig dieselben Zahlen geändert haben. Es wurde jedoch nicht verhindert, dass der nächste User einige Minuten später die Zahlen wieder überschrieb. Also auch bisher galt das System: der letzte gewinnt.

Wenn man die ersten Berührungsängste mit dieser Änderung überwunden hat, so stellt man fest, dass dadurch viele Probleme wegfallen (Sperrkonflikte, hängengebliebene Sperren) ohne dass man eine wichtige Funktionalität verliert!

Datenmodell vorgegeben und einheitlich

Das verwendete Datenmodell ist über alle Teil-Planungen identisch! Es werden zwar nicht in allen Planungsschritten sämtliche Merkmale gefüllt, aber in allen Planungen gibt es eine gemeinsame Liste von Merkmalen. Dadurch ist sofort eine Integration der verschiedenen Planungen möglich. Es muss aber in jeder Planung sichergestellt werden, dass mindestens ein gemeinsamer Satz von Merkmale gefüllt ist (z.B. das Konto). Die Planversion steht nun in der Dimension Category.

Dadurch wird von vorneherein sichergestellt, dass ein übergreifendes Reporting möglich ist!

Plan / Ist Unterscheidung

Bisher konnte man in einer Forecast–Version über das Merkmal Value–Type leicht unterscheiden, welche Monate mit Ist – Zahlen gefüllt sind und welche mit Planzahlen.

In dem rudimentären SAC – Modell ist dieses Merkmal nicht mehr vorhanden. Dieser Unterschied wird über das Attribut lastActual der Planversion vorgenommen. Wie praktisch dies für die Berichtserstellung ist, muss sich erst noch zeigen beziehungsweise es bleibt einem selbst überlassen, dies über ein eigenes Merkmal zu berücksichtigen.

Fazit: Es gibt einiges, an dass man sich als „alter Hase“ erst mal gewöhnen muss, aber nach dem ersten Schreckmoment sind die Änderungen letztendlich nicht wirklich groß.

Autor:

Dr. Ulrich Meseth
Senior Consultant
biX Consulting GmbH & Co. KG

Beitrag Teilen

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email
Share on xing