biX AI Tools - Case study: Master data optimisation

biX Consulting examined the quality and distribution of master data for a provider of fuel and toll invoices. In the case described, 30,000 German number plates, which were directly available in SAP BW, were to be checked for quality, as they were entered manually in the source system. Since a manual check is too time-consuming, the quality was assessed by examining the similarity of the number plates to each other.

For this purpose, the labels were abstracted in a feature engineering in order to consider only the sequences of numbers, letters and special characters. For example, "ME AB 123" became "AA AA 111". This made it possible to combine the licence plates into groups of identical character sequences. The size of these groups and their similarity to each other were then visualised using a machine learning algorithm. In the visualisation, similar groups of labels were close to each other.

 

 

Distribution of all indicator groups and their size (visualisation in Tableau Desktop)

The visualisation showed that there were several hundred indicator groups that varied greatly in their characteristics and of which many combinations, such as A!!A-111A or A-AAAAA-AAA, were invalid.

 

Highlighting of some indicator groups with their character strings (display in Tableau Desktop)

After a quick analysis, the direct further use of the master data could therefore initially be ruled out due to the lack of quality.

However, the grouping and visualisation offer good prerequisites for subsequent use cases. For example, for training scenarios in the machine learning environment, the data can be grouped much more quickly and labelled as correct or incorrect.

 

Contact Person

Oliver Ossenbrink

Management of sales and HR

smartphone-5231499_1920

biX AI Tools – Fallbeispiel: Stammdatenoptimierung

biX Consulting hat für einen Anbieter von Tank- und Mautabrechnungen Stammdaten auf Qualität und Verteilung untersucht. Im dargestellten Fall sollten 30.000 deutsche Kfz-Kennzeichen, die direkt im SAP BW vorlagen, auf Qualität geprüft werden, da sie händisch im Quellsystem erfasst wurden. Da eine manuelle Prüfung zu aufwendig ist, wurde die Qualität durch eine Untersuchung der Ähnlichkeit der Kennzeichen zueinander bewertet.

Dafür wurden die Kennzeichen in einem Feature Engineering abstrahiert, um nur die Abfolgen von Zahlen, Buchstaben, Sonderzeichen zu betrachten. So wurde z.B. aus „ME AB 123“ „AA AA 111“. Dadurch ließen sich die Kennzeichen in Gruppen gleicher Zeichenabfolgen zusammenlegen. Die Größe dieser Kennzeichengruppen und die Ähnlichkeit zueinander wurden dann mit einem Machine Learning Algorithmus visualisiert. Dabei lagen ähnliche Kennzeichengruppen in der Visualisierung nah beieinander.

Verteilung aller Kennzeichengruppen und ihre Größe (Darstellung in Tableau Desktop)

Die Visualisierung zeigte, dass es mehrere hundert Kennzeichengruppen gab, die in ihren Ausprägungen stark variierten und von denen viele Kombinationen, wie bspw. A!!A-111A oder A-AAAAA-AAA ungültig waren.

Hervorhebung einiger Kennzeichengruppen mit ihren Zeichenabfolgen (Darstellung in Tableau Desktop)

Die direkte weitere Verwendung der Stammdaten konnte daher nach einer schnellen Analyse zunächst aufgrund der mangelnden Qualität ausgeschlossen werden.

Für anschließende Use Cases bietet die Gruppierung und Visualisierung zudem aber gute Voraussetzungen. So lassen sich die Daten z.B. für Trainingsszenarien im Machine Learning Umfeld deutlich schneller gruppenweise als richtig oder falsch labeln.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für weitere Auskünfte:

Ulrich Kramer
Sales Manager
Tel.: +49 (0) 21 02 8 75 46 – 18
ulrich.kramer@bix-consulting.de

Beitrag Teilen

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email
Share on xing