biX AI Tools - Case Study: Customer Churn Prevention

Customer-Churn is the termination of a contract by the customer. Predicting such events before they occur is of great interest in many business areas. Focusing countermeasures on relevant customers reduces the effort and prevents a sleeper effect with customers who are not at risk.

One possible way of predicting churn will be shown here using decision trees from the SAP HANA Predictive Analysis Library (PAL). A data set of customer data from a telecommunications company with known churn events serves as the data basis.

  The sleeper effect describes that customers only evaluate their contract conditions through the established contact and then cancel.

A decision tree separates the data set as precisely as possible into churn customers and non-churn customers. To do this, it creates decision rules for which it uses customer characteristics, such as "Monthly turnover > X" or "Use of streaming offers yes/no". The combination of the individual rules then finally allows the decision tree to assign a customer to churn/non-churn.

Figure 1: Section of a possible decision tree

The choice of parameters when creating a decision tree influences both the accuracy of the assignment and the complexity of the rules. If one sets the value of simplicity high, the rules become less specific, but the accuracy of the classification usually decreases. So there is a trade-off between readability and better separation.

Simplicity here describes the necessary number of clients described by a rule. If this value is not reached, the rule is not formed and further division ends in this branch.

For the creation of the decision tree and the verification of the created rules, training and test datasets are needed. In this example, the data set is in aDSO in SAP BW. Training set and test set are persisted as tables for comparability of runs from the data set. Data preprocessing and splitting was done using ABAP.

 

Figure 2: Query on connection ADSO

After creating the separated sets, the quality of the created decision trees is assessed first with the training set then with the test set. If the accuracy of the separation of churn and non-churn is satisfactory, a final decision tree is created based jointly on training and test data. The decision trees are created with a call to SAP HANA PAL in ABAP. The created and combined rules from the PAL are difficult to read without further formatting and are not yet assigned to individual customers. However, an insight is desirable for checking the correct application of the master and transaction data in the rules. In addition, looking at which rule applies to a customer can give clues as to which aspects can avert the churn event. Therefore, the rules are formatted in further ABAP programs and the applied rule is assigned to each customer. The formatted rules are merged with the customer data in aDSO and can be evaluated by query.

 

Figure 3: Evaluation at rule level

With a simplicity of 150, an accuracy of over 75% is achieved over the entire data set. However, looking at the rule level also allows the evaluation of the accuracy of the individual rules, which can also reach more than 90%.

Thus, churn prevention measures can be focused on vulnerable customers with sufficient predictive accuracy. This can reduce costs for sales measures and increase efficiency by avoiding false customer contacts.

 

Contact Person

Oliver Ossenbrink

Management of sales and HR

teaser

biX AI Tools – Fallbeispiel: Customer-Churn-Prevention

Customer-Churn ist die vom Kunden ausgehende Kündigung. Die Vorhersage solcher Ereignisse vor dem Eintreten ist in vielen Geschäftsbereichen von großem Interesse. Die Fokussierung von Gegenmaßnahmen auf relevante Kunden verringert den Aufwand und verhindert einen Schläfereffekt bei nicht gefährdeten Kunden.

Der Schläfereffekt beschreibt, dass Kunden erst durch den hergestellten Kontakt ihre Vertragsbedingungen bewerten und daraufhin kündigen.

Ein möglicher Weg zur Vorhersage von Churn soll hier mittels Decision Trees aus der SAP HANA Predictive Analysis Library (PAL) gezeigt werden. Als Datengrundlage dient ein Datenset von Kundendaten eines Telekommunikations- unternehmens mit bekannten Churn-Ereignissen.

Ein Decision Tree trennt den Datensatz möglichst genau in Churn-Kunden und Nicht-Churn-Kunden. Dafür erstellt er Entscheidungsregeln, für die er Kundenmerkmale verwendet, wie z.B. „Monatlicher Umsatz > X“ oder „Nutzung von Streamingangeboten Ja/Nein“. Die Kombination der Einzelregeln erlaubt dem Decision Tree dann schließlich die Zuordnung eines Kunden zu Churn/ Nicht-Churn.

Abbildung 1: Ausschnitt aus möglichem Decision Tree

Einfachheit beschreibt hier die nötige Zahl der Kunden, die mit einer Regel beschrieben werden. Wird dieser Wert nicht erreicht, so wird die Regel nicht gebildet und die weitere Aufteilung endet in diesem Zweig.

Die Auswahl der Parameter bei der Erstellung eines Decision Trees beeinflusst sowohl die Genauigkeit der Zuordnung als auch die Komplexität der Regeln. Setzt man den Wert der Einfachheit hoch, so werden die Regeln weniger spezifisch, aber die Genauigkeit der Klassifizierung nimmt meist ab. Es gilt also zwischen Lesbarkeit und besserer Trennung abzuwägen.

Für die Erstellung des Decision Trees und die Überprüfung der erstellten Regeln werden Trainings- und Testdatensets benötigt. In diesem Beispiel liegt der Datensatz in einem aDSO im SAP BW vor. Trainingsset und Testset werden für die Vergleichbarkeit von Durchläufen aus dem Datensatz als Tabellen persistiert. Die Datenvorverarbeitung und die Aufteilung der Daten erfolgten mittels ABAP.

Abbildung 2: Query auf Verbindungs-aDSO

Nach der Erstellung der getrennten Sets wird die Qualität der erstellten Decision Trees zunächst mit dem Trainings- dann mit dem Testset beurteilt. Bei zufriedenstellender Genauigkeit der Trennung von Churn und Nicht-Churn wird ein finaler Decision Tree auf gemeinsamer Basis von Trainings- und Testdaten erstellt. Die Decision Trees werden mit einem Aufruf der SAP HANA PAL in ABAP erstellt. Die erstellten und kombinierten Regeln aus der PAL sind ohne weitere Formatierung nur schwer lesbar und noch nicht einzelnen Kunden zugeordnet. Für die Überprüfung der richtigen Anwendung der Stamm- und Bewegungsdaten in den Regeln ist ein Einblick aber wünschenswert. Zudem kann die Betrachtung, welche Regel für einen Kunden gilt, Hinweise darauf geben, welche Aspekte das Churn-Ereignis abwenden können. Daher werden die Regeln in weiteren ABAP-Programmen formatiert und jedem Kunden die angewendete Regel zugeordnet. Die aufbereiteten Regeln werden mit den Kundendaten in einem aDSO zusammengeführt und können per Query ausgewertet werden.

Abbildung 3: Auswertung auf Regelebene

Mit einer Einfachheit von 150 wird eine Genauigkeit von über 75% über den gesamten Datensatz erreicht. Die Betrachtung auf Regelebene erlaubt aber auch die Bewertung der Genauigkeit der einzelnen Regeln, die auch mehr als 90% erreichen kann.

So können die Maßnahmen für die Churn-Prevention auf gefährdete Kunden mit ausreichender Vorhersagegenauigkeit fokussiert werden. Dadurch können Kosten für Vertriebsmaßnahmen verringert und die Effizienz durch die Vermeidung falscher Kundenkontakte erhöht werden.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für weitere Auskünfte:

Ulrich Kramer
Sales Manager
Tel.: +49 (0) 21 02 8 75 46 – 18
ulrich.kramer@bix-consulting.de

Beitrag Teilen

Share on xing
Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email