Setting up an Enterprise Data Warehouse

Facts about the customer

 

Industry: Information technology in banking and commerce

Company size: Corporation

 

 

 

Challenge

The existing data warehouse, which had grown over many years, could no longer meet the current requirements for speed and flexibility. The data flows, which are classically built on redundancy, only allow changes to existing models with great effort and thus significantly reduce the speed of adaptation, which in turn led to dissatisfied departments and increased shadow IT. Self-service approaches could hardly be implemented due to the lack of performance.

 

Solution

The implementation of a data warehouse based on SAP HANA has more than fulfilled the requirements of a modern data warehouse architecture. Flexible and easily adaptable models were designed through database-related processing in conjunction with strong virtualisation, which allow an agile approach to data provision. Due to the high processing speed of an in-memory solution, high-performance reporting has become possible which allowed the departments to work independently on their data.

 

Customer benefit

Regularly required reports can be made available on time and with high performance. Due to the lean virtualised architecture, adjustments to new customer requirements can be made easily and quickly. Data models can be linked virtually and allow new insights into company data and processes. This can significantly accelerate and qualitatively strengthen the process of decision-making.

Aufbau Enterprise Data Warehouse

Fakten zum Kunden

 

Branche: Informationstechnik im Bereich Banken und Handel

Unternehmensgröße: Konzern

 

 

 

Herausforderung

Das bestehende und über viele Jahre immer weiter gewachsene Data Warehouse konnte die aktuellen Anforderungen an Geschwindigkeit und Flexibilität nicht mehr erfüllen. Die klassisch auf Redundanz aufgebauten Datenflüsse lassen Änderungen an bestehenden Modellen nur mit großen Aufwänden zu und senken damit deutlich die Anpassungsgeschwindigkeit, was wiederum zu unzufriedenen Fachbereichen und einer verstärkten Schatten-IT führte. Self-Service Ansätze konnten aufgrund der mangelnden Performance bisher kaum umgesetzt werden.

 

Lösung

Durch die Einführung eines Data Warehouses auf Basis von SAP HANA konnten die Anforderungen an eine moderne Data Warehouse Architektur mehr als erfüllt wurden. Durch datenbanknahe Verarbeitung in Verbindung mit starker Virtualisierung wurden flexible und leicht anpassbare Modelle entworfen, die ein agiles Vorgehen in der Datenbereitstellung erlauben. Durch die hohe Verarbeitungsgeschwindigkeit einer In-Memory Lösung ist nun ein performantes Reporting möglich und die Fachbereiche können selbständig mit den Daten arbeiten.

 

Kundennutzen

Regelmäßig benötigte Berichte können zeitnah und performant zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Durch die schlanke virtualisierte Architektur sind Anpassungen an neue Kundenanforderung einfach und schnell möglich. Datenmodelle können virtuell miteinander verknüpft werden und erlauben neue Einsichten in die Unternehmensdaten und Prozesse. Hierdurch können Entscheidungsfindungen signifikant beschleunigt und qualitativ verstärkt werden.

Pin It on Pinterest